Today: April 12, 2024
February 22, 2024
1 min read

Senate Confirms Cardoso, Yuguda, 10 Others for MPC

The Senate confirmed the appointment of the new Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) members following the consideration of a report from the Committee on Banking, Insurance, and other Financial Institutions Committee of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) during Thursday’s plenary session. This confirmation comes just days before the first policy meeting of the CBN under its new governor, scheduled for February 26 and 27, 2024.

See also  Ogun state meets with table water producers to address cholera outbreak

The appointed members of the MPC include:

  1. Olayemi Cardoso – Chairman
  2. Muhammad Sani Abdullahi – Member
  3. Bala M. Bello – Member
  4. Emem Usoro – Member
  5. Philip Ikeazor – Member
  6. Lamido Yuguda — Member
  7. Jafiya Lydia Shehu – Member
  8. Murtala Sabo Sagagi – Member
  9. Aloysius Uche Ordu – Member
  10. Aku Pauline Odinkemelu – Member
  11. Mustapha Akinwumi – Member
  12. Bandele A.G. Amoo – Member
See also  Senate summons ministers on Niger Delta ministry's budget

In November 2023, Olayemi Cardoso, appointed as the CBN Governor in September 2023 by President Bola Tinubu, expressed concerns about the effectiveness of MPC meetings under his predecessor, Godwin Emefiele. He emphasized that the CBN Act 2007 mandates the MPC meeting four times a year, and the bank had met this requirement in 2023. Cardoso’s focus is on ensuring that these meetings are useful and effective.

See also  How I was attacked by Gov Adeleke’s security aides- Ogun NUJ scribe

However, Bismarck Rewane, a renowned economist and Managing Director of Financial Derivatives Company Limited, suggested that the MPC should convene more than four times a year to review economic and financial conditions and address escalating inflation.

Previous Story

Court orders NPC to disclose aborted census expenses

Next Story

Rising cost of living makes Sanwo-olu decide to partner “Mama put” to give people free food

Latest from Blog

Ogun evacuates, rehabilitates destitute

The Ogun State government has begun evacuation and rehabilitation of destitute with mental disorders who constitute environmental nuisance to communities across the state. Hon.

Pelican valley lights up Ogun communities

Pelican Valley estate has installed industrial solar lights in over ten neighboring communities in Ogun state. The community includes Kobape, Egbeda, Galatia, Masha, Mosunmore,

Ogun  IPAC gets new chairman

Comrade Sanyaolu Abayomi of Action Alliance ( AA) has emerged as the newly elected Chairman of  Inter-Party Advisory Council ( IPAC) in Ogun State.  The

OGHA passes N703.02Bn 2024 budget

The Ogun State House of Assembly has on Thursday passed N703,028,013,431.64 as the Year 2024 Appropriation bill. The bills which was earlier presented to

Ogun set to distribute 5000 CofO

The Ogun state government will distribute 5000 Certificates of Occupancy (C of O) to beneficiaries on Friday, December 1 2023. According to a statement
Go toTop

Don't Miss

Senate approves 2024 student loan act

This significant stride follows the bill's progression, having successfully navigated

Senate Scandal: senior senators allegedly receive N500m each for constituency projects

The revelation surfaced during a motion on breach of privilege