Osimhen makes history as CAF African player of the year

Share Story

Napoli and Super Eagles forward, Victor Osimhen, secured the prestigious title of the 2023 CAF African Player of the Year, marking a historic achievement for the Nigerian star. This accolade makes Osimhen the first Nigerian player to clinch the coveted prize since Nwankwo Kanu in 1999.

In a highly competitive field, the 24-year-old outshone contenders such as Liverpool’s Mohammed Salah and PSG’s Achraf Hakimi. Osimhen’s outstanding performance during the 2022/2023 season played a pivotal role in Napoli’s Serie A triumph after more than three decades.

His remarkable goal-scoring prowess, with 26 league goals and a total of 31 across all competitions, earned him both the Golden Boot and the Serie A Player of the Season titles.

Your Website Title Advertisement Image Advertisement (apply here)
See also  Who is the best striker between Osimhen and Haaland?

Osimhen’s achievements extended beyond domestic success, breaking records, including surpassing Liberia’s President George Weah for the most goals by an African player in the Italian topflight. At the 2023 Ballon d’Or, he was ranked as the 8th Best Player globally, ahead of notable names like Luka Modric, Mohamed Salah, and Bernardo Silva.

Your Website Title Advertisement Image

In addition to Osimhen’s triumph, other notable winners at the 2023 CAF Awards included Nigerian icon Asisat Oshoala, securing the CAF Women’s Player of the Year for a record sixth time. Morocco’s Walid Regragui was named CAF’s Best Coach of the Year in the Men’s category, and South Africa’s Desiree Ellis received the Best Coach award in the women’s category. Percy Tau from South Africa and Al Ahly was honored as the CAF InterClub Player of the Year.

See also  Chukwueze, Nwabali in Eagles camp; Osimhen expected

The CAF Young Player of the Year award went to Senegal’s Lamine Camara, while Moroccan prodigy Nesryne El Chad clinched the inaugural CAF Women’s Young Player of the Year award. Morocco and Nigeria were recognized for their national teams’ achievements, with Morocco winning the Men’s National Team award and Nigeria securing the Women’s National Team of the Year award.

See also  AFCON: Osimhen bags hat-trick as Super Eagles crushes Sao Tomé 6-0

Club honors were also awarded, with Al Ahly from Egypt winning the Male Club of the Year, and Mamelodi Sundowns from South Africa claiming the Female Club of the Year award. South Africa dominated the continent’s Best XI players in the Women Category, and two members of Morocco’s World Cup semi-final team were included in the male version.

The winners in each category were determined through a comprehensive voting process involving a panel comprising CAF Technical Committee members, Head Coaches, National Team captains, and media professionals.


Share Article

Don't Miss