Court jails 41 internet fraudsters in Oyo, Ogun

Share Story

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) Ibadan Zonal Command has convicted and sentenced of forty-one online fraudsters to different jail terms in the Oyo and Ogun States, respectively.

After entering guilty pleas to all one-count charges that the EFCC had brought against them, they were placed in jail. 

Justices Ladiran Akintola and Adebukola Olajide of the Oyo State High Court sitting in Ibadan; Justices Abiodun Akinyemi, A.A. Babawale and B.B. Adebowale of the Ogun State High Court, Abeokuta and Justice Uche Agomoh of the Federal High Court, Ibadan, Oyo State, jailed the 41 convicts.

The convicts are Siyanbade Timilehin Omobosola, Ilugbo Emmanuel Adekunle, Odude Ayomide Michael, Aderounmu Gbenga Michael, Oluwole David Dare, Habeeblahi Abdullateef Akande, Ololade Sunday Olamide, Ibrahim Victor Abayomi, Adewusi Mojeed Adedeji, Afeez Lekan Jimoh, Peter Seyi Iyanuoluwa, Olatunde Abass, Alan-Oni Joseph Opeyemi, Adetunji Abolaji Adeola and Ogunmola Oluwabori Micheal.

See also  Auto crash claims 5 lives along Sagamu-Benin-Ore expressway

Others include :  Ajayi Raymond Damilare, Cyril Stephen Oluwaseyi, Adekunle Solomon, Olalekan Taoreed Miller, Oladipupo Imoleayo Falohun, Moboluwaduro Olalekan Soetan, Ibikunle Oluwadamilare James, Olumoroti Ayomide Segun, Fetuga Olajide Abiodun, Agbolade Mayowa Oluwafemi , Felix Folorunsho Ayodele,  Dauda Rokeeb Opeyemi, Adeife Adeleke Oluwasegun, Agbe Simon Abuo, Alonge Timileyin Israel.

The rest are: Lasisi Hassan Ayobami, Olakode Ajibola Ibrahim, Ogundiya Fredrick Olajide, Emmanuel Chidi Peter, Ayanmo Taiwo Wasiu, Daud Sodiq Temidayo, Hammed Ibrahim Ola, Adenuga Tope Lekan, Ibrahim Odewande Olasumbo, Adekunle Habeeb Olamilekan and Monday Blessing Patrick.

They all pleaded “guilty” to the one-count charge when it was read to them individually at their arraignments.

See also  NANS Ogun, Southwest Coordinator, SUG presidents draft selves in APC campaign list

As a result, the prosecution evaluated the facts of the cases as they asked the courts to convict and sentence the prisoners accordingly.

After hearing the prosecution and defence counsels’ submissions and prayers, the courts convicted and sentenced Patrick, Olasumbo, Lekan, Ola, Temidayo, Olajide, Ibrahim, Ayobami, Israel, James, Soetan, Solomon, and Oluwaseyi to one year in prison, while Olamilekan was sentenced to nine months in prison and Falohun to ten months in prison.

Also, Wasiu, Peter, Oluwafemi, Abiodun and Olumoroti bagged three months imprisonment each but Oluwafemi, Abiodun and Olumoroti were given option of N50, 000.00 (Fifty Thousand Naira) fine each in lieu of their sentence.

See also  TASUED students frown at manipulation of E-voting process 

In addition, the following individuals were found guilty and sentenced to six months community service: Oluwasegun, Opeyemi, Ayodele, Damilare, Michael, Adeola, Opeyemi, Abass, Iyanuoluwa, Jimoh, Adedeji, Abayomi, Olamide, Akande, Michael, Adekunle, and Omobosola. Adekunle also received a fine of N50, 000.00 (fifty thousand Naira) in addition to his sentence.

The courts also found Abuo, Miller, Dare, and Michael guilty and sentenced them to three months of community service apiece; however, Abuo received a N50,000.00 fine in lieu of prison time, while Michael was also had to pay a N30,000.00 fine.

They were forced to forfeit all the recovered items to the federal government including a green Toyota Highlander with the license plate LSD was among others.

Share Article

Don't Miss