Ogun Assembly approves nine nominees, mourns dead staff

Share Story

Following the withdrawal of Mr. Oshunbiyi Tunde’s nomination by the State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun, the Ogun State House of Assembly has confirmed and ratified the nominations of nine of the ten commissioner-nominees it just screened.

The approval followed the adoption of the report of the Committee of the Whole House, which was presided over by the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Olakunle Oluomo. Bolanle Ajayi presented the report before moving to adopt it, and Lukmon Atobatele seconded the motion.

See also  Ogun assembly plans public hearing on MAPOLY strikes

Following that, a proposal to approve the nominations was made by the majority leader, Yusuf Sheriff, seconded by the minority leader, Lukman Adeleye, and backed by the entire house in a voice vote at the plenary.

“The Committee found the nominees eligible and suitable to assume the exalted office of State Commissioner in Ogun State,” the report states, “as some of them had undergone the same process in the House before their previous appointment in the State.”

See also  Ogun assembly workers join nationwide strike over financial autonomy

In a related development, the lawmakers discussed two bills, the Ogun State Commercial Vehicles and Trucks Law, 2023, and the Obas and Chiefs’ (Amendment) Law, 2023, in an effort to reposition the State traditional councils and State transportation sector for efficiency and effective service delivery.

See also  Ogun assembly workers join nationwide strike over financial autonomy

The H.B. No. 001/OG/2023- A Bill for a Law to Amend the Obas and Chiefs, Council of Obas, and Traditional Council Law of Ogun State, 2021 was introduced by lawmakers who claimed that it was now essential.

The members also spent a moment of quiet in memory of Mr. Olusegun Alase, a member of the Assembly staff who died away earlier today.

Share Article

Don't Miss